Panchadi Rambabu, Amudalavalasa, Srikakulam – Interview


Panchadi Rambabu is the AP State Secretary of Yuva Satta (youth wing of Lok Satta Party) and its zonal in-charge for three districts – Srikakulam, Vizianagaram, and Vishakapatnam. He was interviewed by Amarendra Sagila in September, 2011. Rambabu can be reached on phone (+91- 9701884656) or via email.

Amar: Can you tell us how you entered politics and public life?

Rambabu: I have always been interested in politics. We all have read in our childhood about the lives of our freedom fighters. Even in the primary and high school stage, I used to have an affinity towards such way of thought and action. But keeping my family circumstances in mind, I used to think that I should first do some job and then later pursue such things. However, when I was studying degree, I used to follow the issues of “Udyoga Sopanam” magazine to prepare for competitive examinations. In that magazine, consecutively in 5-6 issues, there were write-ups and columns about Dr. JP who left IAS to do public service. That attracted my attention. Every student was aspiring to be a doctor or enter IAS, and I wondered what Dr. JP wanted to do after leaving IAS. I was surprised to know that such people exist.

I started to learn more about him and came to know that he was leading a movement called Lok Satta. Before 1999 general elections, Lok Satta released a list of candidates who were facing criminal or corruption charges in courts, but were given tickets for Assembly and Lok Sabha elections. I wondered what kind of response Dr. JP got from the people for his efforts. From the beginning, I wanted to do something for the betterment of the society and naturally was influenced by the line of thought and action of Dr. JP.

I started thinking that everyone is following a routine life – studying for a job, doing a job, getting married, and settling down in life. After one reaches old age, no energy is left to act and what remains is the regret that when young one could not follow up noble thought with action. I did not want to end up like that. Though it is difficult considering my circumstances, I had resolved to spend some of my time in that direction even while living for myself, studying or doing a job. At that stage, the ideas of Dr. JP influenced me to a great extent.

When Dr. JP announced the party, I joined and started working full time for the party.

Amar: Tell us briefly about your childhood, education, and your work outside Lok Satta.

Rambabu: I was born in Velamam village in Amudalavalasa Mandal. In those days, people who did not have their own lands or any other property, migrated to other places. My parents migrated to the then Calcutta. But my father wanted us children to grow up and get educated in our native village and so after 6th class, I returned to stay with my grandparents. I completed the rest of my education till my bachelor’s degree (B.Sc) in Amudalavalasa.

Due to my stay in Kolkata and having been exposed to Hindi, I saw opportunities in teaching Hindi here in AP where there is a dearth of Hindi teachers. I completed my teacher training in Hindi. I then wanted to appear for DSC examination for a government teacher post. After degree, I also started giving tuitions and pursued my PG in Physics through Open University.

But once I entered politics, I completely lost the interest in pursuing a government job. I was among the top rankers in school. Among the first four rankers, one became a doctor, one an engineer, and another an agriculture scientist. Only I turned to politics.

There is a notion that only scoundrels, fraudsters, and criminals join politics. Everyone used to wonder why someone who has the required talent and ability did not pursue better educational or employment opportunities. However, since the last two years, their attitude towards me changed after watching my growth as an active member of LSP. They started respecting my way of life and choices. My role in the success of Dr. JP’s visit on 22nd July 2009 to Srikakulam in support of the farmers’ issue played a big role in changing people’s attitude towards me.

Amar: Tell us about your occupation outside LSP.

Rambabu: I worked as a lecturer in a private college. Though I did not complete my PG, I was giving tuitions and got an offer from Sri Chaitanya Jr. College. I worked there for three years. Then I moved to Vizag, and set up a boys hostel. Business and teaching are my other interests. However, teaching offers very little money as the private colleges exploit the unemployed and make them work for long hours. So, I continued giving tuitions, but concentrated on business. I ran the boys hostel for two years in Vizag. Then I came across news that Dr. JP started a political party. I was already a follower of Dr. JP and his ideas. I felt that if I did not listen to the clarion call, my life would lose much of its meaning. I came back to Srikakulam and after one year, in October 2007, I took formal membership and started giving full time for the party.

Amar: What exactly attracted you to join the party?

Rambabu: In one word, the leadership of Dr. JP. He spoke extensively about the party manifesto. The objective that attracted me most was that no one should face discrimination and suffer due to the accident of birth, in a family belonging to a particular caste or economic circumstances. Dr. JP stressed that this is an achievable goal. This made me think hard. Until then, I did not know that political parties are born and are run based on ideologies. I was attracted to the agenda of LSP. I started learning more. I thought deeply about the practicality of the ideas and the possible obstacles. The more I knew, the more I enjoyed learning. Until now, I have not come across a single negative idea or practice in the party. I believe that the party leadership is working to their maximum capability to bring about change. But because of our limited strength, the results are not proportionate. However, the affect could be seen on every movement going on in the country, including the one led by Anna Hazare.

Amar: Please expand on your association with Lok Satta.

Rambabu: I started as a primary member in October 2007. I did not have a cell phone at that time. Even though the party office situated in Srikakulam town was 18 km far from my village (Velamam), I used to travel by bus and touch the leaders there twice a week to know about any activities and inform them about my readiness to participate. At that time, an activity called “Gramam lo oka roju” (one day in a village) was being taken up statewide. As part of it, posters pertaining to each of our 50 Guarantees were displayed and discussed in a village. To carry it up in Srikakulam village, D.V.V.S. Varma garu was discussing with us and I suggested them to begin the programme with my village. I told them that I will give the time to take it up there. The success of the programme in my village helped me gain recognition as a mandal level representative of the party.

In the organizational elections held in 2008, I contested and won as a candidate for the post of the party’s mandal president, for the Amudalavalasa mandal. The party district leadership gradually recognized my ability and readiness to work and made me the President of the district Yuva Satta. They assigned me the task of drawing youth towards LSP and stopping the party’s existing youth from leaving because of the charisma and various attractions of the party started by the actor Chiranjeevi. I trained 400 youth to be volunteers in Srikakulam district. Even some party leaders found this hard to believe as not more than 40-50 would turn up for any event held in Srikakulam town. I believed that rather than asking them to attend meetings held in the town, youth staying in remote villages be better assigned activities that they can carry out in their own village and mandal.

I myself designed an activity called “Pradhamika Vidya meeda Praja Udyamam.” This is the activity that helped me the most in drawing youth from villages. In villages, any family that can spend Rs. 400-500 a month for education joins its children only in a private school. Through the above-mentioned activity, we ensured that government schools offer the same level of education as convent schools. All this needed was some interest and participation from parents and coordination from the village youth. Without intimidating or threatening teachers, we made them realize their responsibility and compelled them to put in their best efforts and do their duty. We carried out this programme in 14-16 villages in the Amudalavalasa mandal. The government schools gradually won the trust of villagers for the level of education imparted, resulting in parents joining their wards there. This saved them Rs. 5000-6000 a year. The selfless service from the village youth earned them respect and generated curiosity about LSP and its principles. I told the youth that we can replicate the process to ensure accountability in primary health care centers and government colleges.

In the 2009 Assembly elections, the above programme helped us get 57 votes in my village and 1300 votes in Pondur mandal. Over the constituency, we got 2400 votes. We tried to make people realize that their vote would go waste if they voted for any other party other than LSP. I campaigned for the party in four constituencies – Amudalavalasa, Srikakulam, Etcherla, and Narsannapeta. Party leaders chose me as someone who had command over the party’s ideology along with oratory skills.

Noting my willingness to work and make people work, after the 2009 elections I was included in the Yuva Satta State Working Committee and appointed as a Zonal Coordinator for the districts of Srikakulam, Vizianagaram, and Vishakapatnam. Recently, the previous body was dissolved and a new Review Committee was formed with three members. I am one among them.

Amar: Tell us about your other major achievements so far in organizing activities for LSP.

Rambabu: For Dr JP’s visit to Srikalkulam on 22nd July 2009, I had asked for and took the lead. Youth meeting Dr. JP is usual and it is easy to mobilize youth to meet him. However, I felt that Lok Satta has recognition and respect in rural areas as well. Out of the 38 mandals in Srikakulam district, I toured 20 mandals visiting about 115 villages. There is a misconception that Lok Satta’s presence is not felt in villages. But, what I understood was there is no need to introduce LSP or Dr. JP to anyone. Everyone knows them well enough. But what is LSP actually working on is not known to many.

I requested Dr. JP to restrict his meeting sessions with youth to the morning and utilize his evening in visiting villages. I selected two villages, one each in the two adjacent mandals of Amudalavalasa and Pondur. Around 3500 farmers from those villages could interact with him that day. Dr. JP and senior party leaders appreciated it and said that the response shows us that we have no less support in rural areas.

This event gave me recognition as an important leader who is in touch with grassroots.

Amar: Apart from primary education and farmers issues, tell us about any other activities that you have worked on.

Rambabu: I conduct awareness campaigns in colleges from time to time on the Right to Information (RTI) Act. I also studied the anti-corruption bill proposed by Dr. JP in the State Assembly. I conducted awareness campaigns in this regard as well and encouraged youth to send post cards to their MLAs and the CM, demanding them to introduce and pass the anti-corruption bill. I did not let go of any opportunity to involve or bring awareness in youth.

Amar: What are the challenges faced by you and your team?

Rambabu: I expected intimidation and harassment from the traditional political parties. But I realized that they first target the benefits that you might derive from the government. The first act of opposition they resort to is preventing sympathizers and members from benefiting from welfare schemes – removing from the list or dropping one’s name down the order for benefits like Indiramma houses, ration cards, old age pensions, handicapped pensions, rural employment guarantee scheme etc. Many government officers are in full support of the ruling party and display more loyalty than to the king. I am one of the losers of these acts of retaliation. This is the maximum they can do, to supporters who are economically weak. However, we must admit that they were successful in stopping some youth from joining and participating in our activities.

There were one or two instances of police threatening our youth that rowdy sheets will be opened in their names. We took this to the notice of Dr. JP and he strongly assured us that he will take care of any such thing and asked us to inform him if it recurs. This boosted our morale hugely. We never carry out any personal attacks or on specific political parties. Following Dr. JP lead, we explain the situation to the people and ask them to choose for themselves.

Personally, the biggest problem the volunteers face is unemployment. There are at least 25 volunteers per mandal who are passionate about the ideas of LSP and are ready to work. However, due to their economic situation, they are compelled to concentrate most of their energies to make their own ends meet. It is our misfortune that even after getting such passionate workers, we are not able to utilize their energies and time fully.

Amar: What are your current responsibilities in Lok Satta Party?

Rambabu: I am a Secretary of Yuva Satta, in charge of three districts – Srikakulam, Vizianagaram, and Vishakapatnam, focusing on forming Yuva Satta committees in those districts and coordinating their activities and coordinating with the media.

Apart from that, I was asked by the party to lead the Independent Farmers Association of Srikakulam for the time being until a credible leader emerges from amongst them. This responsibility was given to me as I have toured extensively and visited 115 villages and 20 mandals and organized independent farmers associations in villages. I play a major role in all the activities of the party in Srikakulam.

In addition, I consider two things as my main responsibilities:
1. To spread the party’s ideas and goals as much as I can
2. To the utmost possible extent, model my life according to the ideals of the party so that others can derive inspiration from me.

Amar: How many people are working regularly in your team now?

Rambabu: In Srikakulam, there are 35 people who work with me in spite of all obstacles. In Vizianagaram, 16 youth. 12 In Vizag Urban, 15 in Rural.

Amar: How do you plan to grow your team?

Rambabu: Due to some events or changes in the wider political and social sphere, we often get opportunities that help us increase our base. At times, more people than normal will be looking for avenues to be politically active and more people will get attracted to join our party. We should utilize these windows of opportunities.

For example, the recent events show a spurt in the awareness levels about the ill effects of corruption. The enthusiasm in people on the need to fight corruption is on the rise. And LSP has long been fighting corruption and advocating measures to curb it. We have gained enough credibility in that regard. So, we should utilize these opportunities to grow our ranks.

We have taken out a Vijayotsava rally in Srikakulam on the occasion of ending of fast by Anna Hazare. We regard the government’s willingness to accept the terms of Anna as a victory. It is a victory for LSP that has been advocating systemic measures to curb corruption. Only LSP could react and utilize such an event. We took a rally with around 150 youth. The rally was a success and hopefully will be covered well in tomorrow’s newspapers.

Amar: What is your opinion on the movement rooting for the Jan Lokpal Bill? How do you think we could benefit from the widespread reaction against corruption?

Rambabu: Providing systemic arrangements to curb corruption through the enactment of a strong Lokpal Bill – this is in sync with what LSP has been advocating. The widespread reaction of people supporting the bill has only doubled people’s faith in LSP. The educated and socially conscious citizenry waiting for change believe that LSP is the right means to bring about change. No party other than us can utilize this development.

For instance, when the former CM, Chandrababu Naidu visited a college in Vizag, he could not answer the questions posed by the students. He faced the same bitter experience in Guntur as well. He could not provide clear or logical answers to any of the questions and tried to escape by making political allegations. Youth can understand such duplicity.

We should design activities utilizing the recent spike in the interest and awareness levels. LSP should try to penetrate further into the people. We should utilize these favorable circumstances.

Amar: How can we convert goodwill into votes, gain popular support?

Rambabu: We have to strengthen our support base. The recently started newspaper “The Hans India” conducted a survey on which political party will be the most effective to curb corruption. LSP topped the results with 24%. However, if they conduct a survey on which party will come to power in 2014, we won’t top it. This shows that we have the trust and support of people, but are failing to convert that into votes. We need organizational strength to change this situation. We need to groom local leadership. In every village, the presence of local leaders helps a party influence the voters during elections.

We have to design such activities that address the immediate concerns of the people. We should include them in the activities and solve the problems by mobilizing their support. The broad issues pertaining to the nation and the state do not help us much at the local level. Taking up of local problems – like roads, drinking water, drainage, irrigation, sanitation, etc – is what that matters.

For example, in our village, we compelled a contractor to mend his ways and improve the quality of the road. We gained a lot of support and appreciation from the villagers for the effort.

Amar: Most of the youth are preoccupied with their own life – their education, career, family etc. There is huge parental pressure on youth to join a lucrative job and earn as much as possible to get settled in life as fast as possible. What do you have to say about this situation? How helpful is this scenario when the society needs active participation of youth in bringing about change?

Rambabu: Qualities like magnanimity and sacrifice have become a rarity. Parents might be worried that if their children are not well settled in life, they may not be looked after properly in old age. The attitude that one should live for oneself no matter what happens to the society – this kind of apathy towards the society is borne out of ignorance. One should look after one’s interests, but should not become self centered. It is stupidity to believe that one can have a great future in spite of a disordered and chaotic society.

It is parents’ responsibility to encourage children to play their part in the welfare of the society. I have seen many instances where children who were encouraged by their parents to be self centered, grow up and ignore their parents as well. I strongly believe that any person, who gives his valuable time and energy to see a smile on others’ faces, will never ignore his own parents. He will find some or other means to look after them well.

Youth have the advantage of being more educated and having a broader outlook. It is the duty of the youth to recognize the importance of doing their bit for a better society in addition to looking after their own education and career. If we did not grab this chance to bring about change, our next generation will surely question us for the lost opportunity and look down upon us.


Amar: What kind of support are you expecting from other arms of Lok Satta like PFL, leaders and volunteers from other countries?

Rambabu: Without getting enough votes, we can’t shape our ideas into policies. We need to increase our organizational strength and local presence. Whatever kind of support I receive will be utilized to address this problem. I will redirect the support to remove the obstacles for youth in getting involved with the party. We need to strive to achieve the critical mass of support. After that, increasing our strength further won’t be difficult.

This entry was posted in interview, Srikakulam. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Panchadi Rambabu, Amudalavalasa, Srikakulam – Interview

  1. avinEni bhAskar says:

    Good interview 🙂

Leave a comment